Tribute to Richard Taylor PhD

Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 8.12.22 am

Please join us in remembering Richard, in an online memorial for Dementia Alliance International members and all others who knew him, loved him, or whose lives were impacted by him in some way.

His reach was global, and his legacy will be carried on.

This is YOUR opportunity to share how he changed your life, your experience of living with dementia, or your experience of caring for someone with dementia. We have a very big set of shoes to fill.

Register here…

DATE:
Wednesday, August 19, 2015 (USA, Canada, UK, Europe) and Thursday, August 20, 2015 (Australia, NZ)

GUEST SPEAKERS:
Mr Glenn Rees, AM, Chair, Alzheimer’s Disease International
Dr Al Power, Geriatrician, author, educator
More to be announced.

Richard Taylor PhD was a founding member of Dementia Alliance International, and has been an advocate and global voice for people with dementia for more than ten years. Sadly, Richard passed away at his home on July 25th, due to cancer.

Richard was 58 years old when he was diagnosed with dementia, probably of the Alzheimer’s type. He always began his videos and presentations with: “Hello. My name is Richard, and I have dementia, probably of the Alzheimer’s type.” “Hello” is such a simple word, but it in some ways it epitomized Richard, as his focus was on our continued humanity, especially that of people with dementia, and not on our deficits.

The members of DAI send their deepest sympathy to his family and close friends, and we hope they know how much he was loved and will continue to positively influence the dementia community.

This Tribute to Richard is your opportunity to remember Richard amongst others who also loved him.

There will be a number of speakers, including Dr Al Power paying their respects to Richard, followed by the opportunity for you to express in your own words (max 2 minutes), the influence Richard had on your life.

Start Time:

North America, UK and Europe: Wednesday, August 19
3:30 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco) and Arizona (Phoenix);
3:30 p.m. Mountain Time;
4:30 p.m. Central Time;
5:30 p.m. Eastern Time;
10:30 p.m. in the UK;
11:30 p.m. in Paris and Budapest

Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia, Japan: Wednesday, August 20
7:00 a.m. Adelaide;
7:30 a.m. Brisbane;
4:30 a.m. Jakarta;
9:30 a.m. Auckland;
6:30 a.m. Tokyo

The Tribute to Richard will run for two hours.

Register here…

You will receive an email confirmation that contains instructions on how to join the event.

Please note: Unfortunately, we have had some IT issues with Eventbrite sending out incorrect dates and times to some people, so please, refer to the times listed here.