Tag Archives: “Five years on: Why DAI? Where have we been? Where are we going?”

Webinar “DAI: 5 years on”

 

Please note: this is one event, set in a number of different time zones.


“Five years on: Why DAI? Where have we been? Where are we going?”

 

ABOUT THE WEBINAR: With a new diagnosis of dementia every 3 seconds, it is not surprising that DAI has continued to grow since its launch five years ago. Our presenters, John Sandblom and Kate Swaffer are both co founders, and are also co hosts of peer to peer support groups and very active board members. They are both often asked why and how DAI was set up. In this Webinar, they will cover the history of DAI, provide an overview of what DAI has achieved to date, and discuss where they see the future of DAI.

The most imporant part of DAI’s work is the weekly peer to peer support groups for members, and the global advocacy for claiming our human rights and disability rights. This webinar will also be an opportuntity for members, families, as well as our sponsors, supporters, academics and professionals working in the field to tell us what they would like to see in terms of DAI’s future direction.

By working together collaboratively, we are all stronger, and can achieve even more than what the original founding members first dreamed of. We welcome everyone to register and join us for this EXCITING Webinar. Without you all, DAI would not be where it is today.

PRESENTERS: Kate Swaffer & John Sandblom

John and Kate are co founders of DAI, and have been active board members from day one of this organization. They were also very in the setting up of DAI prior to the launch on January 1, 2014.

John has lived in central Iowa, in the US for all of his life except for college which was eastern Iowa at the University of Iowa. He spent the majority of his working life in business-to- business sales, first print advertising followed by television advertising and then telecommunications sales. He was diagnosed with Younger Onset Atypical Alzheimer’s Disease at the age of 48 in 2007, by a gerontologist that specialized in dementia.

Kate grew up on a farm in rural South Australia, and has lived in Adelaide Australia since 1977. She commenced her professional career as a nurse, specialising in dementia and aged care, and then worked in operating theatres. She has also worked as a chef, and also in health care sales. She is very active globally for DAI, has published two books on dementia, two poetry books, and is involved in research into dementia at three universities. Kate was diagnosed with younger onset dementia (svPPA) aged 49 by a neurologist in Adelaide.

Register here…

DATES/TIMES:

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 (USA/CA/UK/EU)

10:30 am Honolulu
12:30 pm Oregon Portland/San Francisco USA
12:30 pm Vancouver CA
2:30 pm Des Moines/Chicago USA
3:30 pm New York USA
3:30 pm Toronto CA
8:30 pm London/Glasgow UK
9:30 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Thursday, January 31, 2019 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN/CHN)

7:00 am Adelaide AU
6:30 am Brisbane AU
7:30 am Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania AU
4:30 am Perth AU/Taipei TWN/Beijing
5:30 am Tokyo, JP
9:30 am Auckland, NZ

The Webinar runs for 1.5 hours.

Apologies for some of the early or late times; it is really difficult to host one event which suits all time zones; we will record this presentation for those who are unable to attend.

Check your time if not listed above by opening this link.

We hope to see you there!

DONATIONS ARE OUR ONLY SOURCE OF REGULAR REVENUE, AND E INVITE YOU TO MAKE A DONATION.  

WITHOUT DONATIONS, DAI COULD NOT PROVIDE THE SERVICES WE PROVIDE CURRENTLY FOR MEMBERS, THEIR FAMILIES & THE GLOBAL COMMUNITY.

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 400.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

PLEASE DONATE HERE… 

CERTIFICATES OF ATTENDANCE: If you are still waiting on a certificate of attendance from any of our educational webinars, please email us at [email protected]

OPTION: Our event ticketer, Eventbrite, charges us a transaction fee to cover fees and other processing costs, to securely process your donation. Please consider adding an additional small amount to your donation so 100% of your donation amount goes to Dementia Alliance International.

Thank you.