Tag Archives: DAI Webinar: BAME family carers coping with caring for dementia

Webinar: BAME family carers coping with caring for dementia

Please join us for the next DAI “Meeting Of The Minds” Webinar, on October 28/29, 2020

Title: BAME family carers coping with caring for dementia

Presenter: Mohammed A. Rauf, MBE, Founder & Director Meri Yaadain CiC

DAY/DATE(S):

  • Wednesday, October 28, 2020 (USA/CA/UK/EU)
  • Thursday, October 29, 2020 (AU/NZ/Asia)
  • Please note this is one event, set in a number of different time zones.

About the Webinar: The prevalence of dementia amongst the BAME population may be underestimated due to issues impacting on these communities, including greater stigma, lack of awareness, a mistrust of service providers and the psycho-social factors arising from cultural or faith-based expectations. Understanding the complex nature of family dynamics is a key component of being able to decipher the roles and responsibilities within family care given their circumstantial situation.

Even though national policy has tackled some of this through a drive to encourage earlier diagnosis as well as interventions to support people with dementia, it can be argued that policy directives have failed the BAME population given that inequalities amongst the BAME people with dementia and their carers are still significantly higher for these communities than the White British population.

Exploration of psychosocial as well as religious influences on familism and cultural expectations will enable families to better understand roles and responsibilities whilst enabling policy makers and commissioners to recognise needs before putting into place culturally competent supportive interventions.

The notions of equality versus equity are inevitably linked with access to appropriate information, diagnosis and post-diagnostic services to support South Asian families where they are caring for a relative with dementia.

About Mohammed A Rauf: Mohammed is the Founder & Director of Meri Yaadain CiC, which looks to support BAME people living with dementia, family carers looking after a relative living with dementia and working with service providers to embed cultural competency in practice. He has 20 years of experience of working with BAME communities with regards to engagement and access to information and services. He is currently completing his PhD studies looking at how South Asian family carers cope with the transitions associated with looking after a relative with dementia. He was awarded an MBE from the Queen in recognition of his efforts for ‘Services to people with dementia and their carers’.

Register here…

Wednesday, October 28, 2020 (USA/CA/UK/EU):

  • 1:30 pm Pacific
  • 2:30 pm Mountain
  • 3:30 pm Central
  • 4:30 pm Eastern
  • 8:30 pm London/Glasgow/Dublin UK
  • 9:30 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Thursday, October 29, 2020 ( AU/NZ/ASIA):

  • 4:30 am Perth, AU/Taipei/Singapore
  • 6:30 am Brisbane, AU
  • 7:00 am Adelaide, AU
  • 7:30 am Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania/Brisbane, AU
  • 9:30 am Auckland, NZ

The Webinar runs for 1.5 hours.

Check your time if not listed above with this link.

COST TO ATTEND:

  • DAI Members: FREE
  • Care partners of DAI Memers: FREE
  • Healthcare professionals: $20.00
  • Researchers: $20.00
  • General public: $20.00

YOUR DONATIONS SUPPORT US IN MANY WAYS:

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 200.00 covers the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

PLEASE DONATE TO DAI OR BECOME AN ASSOCIATE OR PARTNER. WITHOUT THEM, DAI COULD NOT PROVIDE THE SERVICES WE PROVIDE CURRENTLY FOR MEMBERS, THEIR FAMILIES & THE GLOBAL COMMUNITY.

Support people with dementia:

THANK YOU