Tag Archives: Beyond BPSD

Our next “Meeting Of The Minds” Webinar: Beyond BPSD

Join us for our next DAI “Meeting Of The Minds” Webinar, with Dr Allen Power on looking Beyond BPSD (Behavioural and Psychological Symptoms of Dementia).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please note: this is one event, set in a number of different time zones. Register now…


About the Webinar: In this session, Al will frame his overall view and approach to dementia and explain how the framework of ‘Behavioural and Psychological Symptoms of Dementia’ is inadequate to meet the needs of people living with the diagnosis, and actually leads to use of potentially harmful medications. Al will show how an approach focused on various aspects of well-being provides insights into root causes of distress and provides a pathway to more sustainable, drug-free approaches. Al will share stories from his experience that support the approach and also some significant data of its success in a state-wide initiative in the US.

About Al: Dr. Allen Power is an internist, geriatrician, and Schlegel Chair in Ageing and Dementia Innovation at the Schlegel—University of Waterloo Research Institute for Ageing in Ontario, Canada. He is also clinical associate professor of medicine at the University of Rochester, NY, and an international educator on transformational models of care for older adults, particularly those living with changing cognitive abilities.

Dr. Power’s book, Dementia beyond Drugs: Changing the Culture of Care was named a 2010 Book of the Year by the American Journal of Nursing. His second book, Dementia Beyond Disease: Enhancing Well-Being was released by Health Professions Press in June 2014 and the second edition of Dementia Beyond Drugs was released in 2017. Dr. Power also has a 20-year history working in culture change in aged care. He led St. John’s Home in Rochester, New York to become the world’s largest Eden Alternative member home, and also helped develop St. John’s Penfield Green House homes—the only community-integrated Green House homes in the US.

Wednesday, November 27, 2019 (USA/CA/UK/EU):

  • 10:30 am Honolulu
  • 12:30 pm Pacific
  • 1:30 pm Mountain
  • 2:30 pm Central
  • 3:30 pm Eastern
  • 8:30 pm London/Glasgow/Dublin UK
  • 9:30 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Thursday, November 28, 2019 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN/CHN):

  • 6:30 am Brisbane, AU
  • 7:00 am Adelaide AU
  • 7:30 am Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania AU
  • 4:30 am Perth AU/Taipei//Beijing
  • 9:30 am Auckland, NZ

The Webinar runs for 1.5 hours. Check your time if not listed above with this link.

Register now…


COST TO ATTEND:

  • DAI Members/Care partners: FREE
  • Support people with dementia to attend ADI2020: $50.00 USD
  • Employed persons: DONATIONS APPRECIATED

PLEASE CONSIDER DONATING TO DAI OR BECOMING AN ASSOCIATE OR PARTNER.

WITHOUT YOUR DONATIONS, DAI COULD NOT PROVIDE THE SERVICES WE PROVIDE CURRENTLY FOR MEMBERS, THEIR FAMILIES & THE GLOBAL COMMUNITY.

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

Support people with dementia: Donate to DAI

Become a DAI Associate or Strategic Partner today

Volunteer for DAI

THANK YOU