Tag Archives: 26/27 July 2017

Webinar: “Preventing, stabilizing and reversing early Alzheimer’s”

In DAI’s “A Meeting of the Minds” monthly Webinar series, we feature people who have unique perspectives on dementia and who challenge the status quo, most often speakers who are highly regarded eminent international academics, clinicians and well regarded speakers. These monthly webinars focus on a variety of topics, and provide an opportunity for people with dementia to connect with the wider community of those living with the disease.  To participate, you need only an Internet connection, while a webcam and microphone will ensure a fuller experience.

Our guest speaker this month is Dr David Jenkins presenting on Professor Dale Bredesen’s protocol which he is trained to provide for patients titled:

“Preventing, stabilizing and reversing early Alzheimer’s”.

Follow the link for more information and register here to attend.

About Dave: Dr Dave Jenkins qualified from Otago University Medical School in New Zealand in 1982.  His career includes general practice, senior lectureships at Auckland medical school, executive director for education for an Asian corporate health project, and founding Humanitarian NGO SurfAid and currently is a functional medicine practitioner specializing in stabilisation and reversal of cognitive decline.

Dave has won many awards including the prestigious social entrepreneur award the Rainer Arnold Fellowship and in 2007 and SurfAid was chosen from over 49,000 NGOs was voted “one of the best Non Government Organizations in the world” in 2007 by the World Association of NGOs winning their humanitarian award for that year.

His main work and mission is to dramatically improve the screening, prevention and treatment for all people with cognitive decline in Australasia and beyond. He has trained with Professor Dale Bredesen who has documented reversal in cognitive decline and early Alzheimer’s in over 230 cases using a multifaceted metabolic enhancement program.  Dave is now documenting the first reversals of mild to moderate Alzheimer’s in Australasia. Dave is planning to collaborate with Australian scientists and contribute to a multisite trial of “The Bredesen Protocol” in 2017.

About the Webinar:

Learning objectives

  1. 1.    Successful case studies will demonstrate the programmatic components of reversing cognitive decline using the Bredesen Protocols
  2. 2.    Learn the current challenges of applying the Bredesen Protocols in Australasia and details of the future controlled trials

Take Home Message

Using a comprehensive and highly personalised Functional Medicine approach Professor Dale Bredesen has reversed over 230 cases of cognitive decline including MCI and early and moderate Alzheimer’s at a 88% success rate including improvements in symptoms, cognitive scores and hippocampal volumes. Seventy five percent of those that had to leave work went back to work. Very early signs in Australasia are also confirming that cognitive decline can be prevented, stabilised and reversed using the Bredesen Protocols.

 

Wednesday July 27, 2017, USA/CA/EU/UK

Start Time (USA/CA/UK/EU):

  • 2.00 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco);
  • 3.00 p.m. Mountain Time (Denver);
  • 4.00 pm Central Time (Chicago)
  • 5.00 p.m. Eastern Time (Washington DC, New York);
  • 2.00 p.m. Vancouver, Canada;
  • 11.00 a.m. in Honolulu, Hawaii
  • 10.00 p.m. in the UK (apologies to our members in the UK and Scotland);
  • 11.00 p.m. in Amsterdam, Paris and Budapest (apologies to our members in Europe).

Thursday July 27, 2017, 2017 AU/NZ/JPN

Start time (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia)

  • 6.30 a.m. in Adelaide;
  • 7.00 a.m. in Brisbane, Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne;
  • 5.00 a.m. in Perth;
  • 9.00 a.m. in Auckland, New Zealand;
  • 6.00 a.m. in Tokyo, Japan

The WEBINAR will run for approximately 1.25 hours

Open the link for detailed times and how to calculate the time where you live, if not listed above: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?msg=DAI+July+2017+Webinar+%22Reversing+Alzheimer%27s%22&iso=20170727T07&p1=240&ah=1&am=30

You will receive an email confirmation that contains login details and instructions on how to join the online Webinar. 

COST TO ATTEND:  Attending our events supports everyone connected to dementia, whether the person diagnosed, our care partners, or the professionals and research community who work to support us and improve our lives.

  • DAI MEMBER: FREE
  • UNEMPLOYED CARE PARTNER: FREE
  • EMPLOYED OR SELF EMPLOYED PERSON: FREE: PLEASE CONSIDER MAKING A DONATION
  • UNEMPLOYED STUDENTS: FREE or a DONATION