Professor Steven Sabat: “Understanding the Selfhood of People with a Dementia: Context is Key”

We are holding our monthly Dementia Alliance International online Webinar on October 28/29 this month, with eminent Professor Steven Sabat presenting to us. Please join us for this event.

Register here… 

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 1.13.51 pm

Topic: “Understanding the Selfhood of People with a dementia: Context is Key”

About our event: Understanding and helping a person with a dementia including Alzheimer’s disease (AD) requires that we recognize that there are different ways to understand dementia itself.  Explored in this presentation will be the biomedical, the existential-phenomenological, and the bio-psycho-social approaches.  We will see how each of these approaches provides different information and we will explore how understanding the person, his or her history, his or her selfhood and relationships, can be tremendously helpful in understanding the effects of dementia on him or her.  The person’s history and selfhood will be seen as being contexts of fundamental importance in understanding (1) the person’s reactions to the effects of dementia, and (2) the best approaches by which to help the person and his or her loved ones through this most difficult time.

Date: 28/29 October, 2015

Start Time (USA/CA/UK/EU):

  • 1.00 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco);
  • 2.00 p.m. Mountain Time;
  • 3.00 pm Central Time (Chicago)
  • 4.00 p.m. Eastern Time (Washington DC);
  • 10.00 a.m. in Honolulu, Hawaii;
  • 8.00 p.m. in the UK;
  • 9.00 p.m. in Paris and Budapest.

Start time (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia):

  • 6.00 a.m. in Brisbane;
  • 7.00 a.m. Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne;
  • 4.00 a.m. in Perth;
  • 6.30 a.m. in Adelaide ;
  • 9.00 a.m. in Auckland, New Zealand;
  • 3.00 a.m. in Indonesia;
  • 5.00 a.m. in Tokyo, Japan

The WEBINAR will run for 1.5 hours. To find out the start time in your city, http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?p1=5&iso=20151029T0630&msg=Meeting%20of%20the%20Minds&ah=1&am=30&low=4

About our Speaker:  Professor Steven R. Sabat has been at Georgetown University since 1975.  He earned his doctorate at the City University of New York, where he specialized in Neuropsychology. The main focus of his research for the past 34 years has been the intact cognitive and social abilities (including aspects of selfhood) of people with Alzheimer’s disease in the moderate to severe stages of the disease, the subjective experience of having the disease, and the ways in which communication between those diagnosed and their caregivers may be enhanced. In addition, his interests include the epistemological basis of our understanding of the effects of brain injury on human beings. He has explored all of these issues in numerous scientific journal articles, in his book, The Experience of Alzheimer’s Disease: Life Through a Tangled Veil(Blackwell, 2001), the French translation of the book, La vécu du Malade d’Alzheimer: Comprendre pour mieux accompagner (Chronique Sociale, 2015), and in his co-edited book, Dementia: Mind, Meaning, and the Person (Oxford University Press, 2006).