News flash: 1st birthday party and an announcement

imagesDementia Alliance International is now into it’s second year, and therefore, on Wednesday February 4, 2015 (Thursday, February 5 in Australia) we are celebrating with an online 1st Birthday Party!

Join your friends at Dementia Alliance International as we celebrate the first anniversary of our organisation. We’ve come a long way, baby, and it’s time to review where we’ve been and talk about where we are going.

People living with the symptoms of dementia are welcome to attend, along with their care partners. It’s easy to join and fun to attend! 

  • In North America: 1:00 p.m. PT; 2:00 p.m. AZ/MT; 3:00 p.m. CT & 4:00 p.m. ET – 11 a.m. in Hawaii.  
  • In the UK: 9 p.m. in the UK; and 10 p.m. in Paris and Budapest
  • In Australia/Japan (Feb 5): 7:00 a.m. in Brisbane; 7:30 a.m. in Adelaide; 5 a.m. in Perth; 8:00 a.m. in Sydney; 6 a.m. in Tokyo 

To find out the start time in your city, click here.  See the details to join in the with fun and register here…

The other exciting news is the official collaboration between DAI and Alzheimer’s Disease International.

In their recent communiqué to their Board, they announced their official collaboration with DAI, as follows:

More involvement of people with dementia in the work of ADI

The Board has agreed to start collaborating with Dementia Alliance International (DAI), an independent international group of people living with dementia. This will be done with a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), with ADI agreeing to support the expansion of DAI to increase representation of people with dementia around the world, including those in lower and middle-income countries.

DAI has worked for almost twelve months towards this, and are very hopeful it is the beginning of significant change towards ensuring the voices of people with dementia are heard. Most importantly, that we are always included I the conversations about us, on the things that impact our lives and futures.

Please don’ forget it is not too late to register here for their conference in Perth, where there are two members attending as key note speakers, and a number of other people with dementia given presentations.

15adiper-header