May Webinar: Learnings from patients and families by Dr Daniel Potts

DAI is delighted to announce our speaker for the May “A Meeting Of The Minds Webinar is eminent neurologist, Dr Daniel Potts. Please register now and join us for this exciting and more posiive approach to dementia.

 

Faces of Change: How Relationships with Persons Living with Dementia Have Changed My Neurology Practice

Presenter: Dr Daniel Potts, MD, FAAN, Founder, Cognitive Dynamics, Neurologist, Tuscaloosa VA, Faculty, University of Alabama

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 (USA/CA/UK/EU)
Thursday, May 30, 2019 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN)

Please note: this is one event, set in a number of different time zones.

Register here…

 

About the Webinar: A neurologist and care partner for his father, Lester, who became an artist after the diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease, Daniel Potts found his life and practice have changed because of the experience with his father. He feels the experience has produced greater empathy, compassion, and understanding, which has increased his own effectiveness as a physician and educator. Dr. Potts will highlight his experience with his father, show some of Lester’s art, will speak about specific ways his practice has changed, and will give some suggestions that may be helpful for other providers. Additionally, he will discuss some realistic expectations persons living with dementia and care partners should have of their providers and looks forward to gaining knowledge and understanding from the webinar audience, as well.

About our speaker: Daniel C. Potts, MD, FAAN is a neurologist, author, educator and champion of those living with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias and their care partners. Selected by the American Academy of Neurology as the 2008 Donald M. Palatucci Advocate of the Year, he also has been designated an Architect of Change by Maria Shriver. In 2016, he was chosen by the University of Alabama Medical Alumni Association as a recipient of the Martha Myers Role Model Award,which honors physician alumni whose lives epitomize the ideal of service to their communities. Inspired by his father’s transformation from saw miller to watercolor artist in the throes of dementia through person-centered care and the expressive arts, Dr. Potts seeks to make these therapies more widely available through his foundation, Cognitive Dynamics. Additionally, he is passionate about promoting self-preservation and dignity for all persons with cognitive impairment. He lives with his wife and two daughters in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 (USA/CA/UK/EU):
11:00 am Honolulu
2:00 pm Pacific
3:00 pm Mountain
4:00 pm Central
5:00 Eastern
10:00 pm London/Glasgow/Dublin UK
11:00 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Thursday, May 30, 2019 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN/CHN):
7:00 am Adelaide AU
7:30 am Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania AU
5:00 am Perth AU/Taipei TWN/Beijing
9:00 am Auckland, NZ

The Webinar runs for 1.5 hours.

Register here…

See you there!

COST TO ATTEND:

DAI Members/Care partners: FREE
Employed people: DONATIONS APPRECIATED
Full time Students: DONATIONS APPRECIATED

PLEASE CONSIDER DONATING TO DAI OR BECOMING AN ASSOCIATE OR PARTNER.

WITHOUT YOUR DONATIONS, DAI COULD NOT PROVIDE THE SERVICES WE PROVIDE CURRENTLY FOR MEMBERS, THEIR FAMILIES & THE GLOBAL COMMUNITY.

$US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
$US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
$US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
$US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

Support people with dementia: Donate to DAI
Become a DAI Associate or Strategic Partner today
Volunteer for DAI

THANK YOU