Upcoming Events

Dementia Alliance International connects people diagnosed with dementia and others who are meeting the challenges of dementia through webinars, classes, and Online Cafes – all accessible from the home or office through the Internet. If you require more information, please click here to use the Contact form.

Table of Contents

Café Le Brain

Online Support Groups

A Meeting of the Minds

DAI Meeting & Event Calendars

DAI Events AUSTRALIA / NEW ZEALAND

Click on an event below for more information. Times listed are set to BRISBANE time zone.

  • Adelaide: Add 1/2 hour from the time listed.
  • Perth, subtract 2 hours from the time listed.
  • Sydney/Canberra, same time as Brisbane.
  • Auckland, add 2 hours to the time listed.
  • Tokyo, subtract 1 hour from the time listed.

DAI Events North America/Central America/UK

Click on an event below for more information. Times listed are for the Eastern time zone.

  • People on the west coast of USA or Canada, subtract 3 hours from the time listed.
  • People in the UK, add 5 hours to the time listed.

Café Le Brain

cafe le brain logoCafé Le Brain is DAI’s online cafe, where we enjoy discussion, support, and some laughter too!

Our online cafes in the USA/UK/Canada are open to people with dementia and their care partners who assist them.

The Cafes in Australia are open to anyone, when we have a guest speaker.

North America/UK Café Le Brain:

Join your friends at Café Le Brain – the online Cafe that uses video conferencing technology to bring people together from far away.

People living with the symptoms of dementia and their care partners are welcome to attend. It’s easy to join and fun to attend!

DATE: Next Café Le Brain to be confirmed

Start Time:

  • 10 a.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco) and Arizona (Phoenix); 
  • 11 a.m. Mountain Time; 
  • 12 noon Central Time;
  • 1 p.m. Eastern Time; 
  • 7 a.m. in Honolulu, Hawaii; 
  • 6 p.m. in the UK; 
  • 7 p.m. in Paris and Budapest. 

The Café will run for two hours.  To find out the start time in your city, click here.

You will receive an email confirmation that contains instructions on how to join the online memory café.

Australian/NZ/Japan Café Le Brain:

Welcome to the monthly online Café Le Brain for Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia and Japan.

People living with the symptoms of dementia and their supporters are welcome to attend. We also invite anyone interested in dementia to attend our Cafes when we have guest speakers. We use video conferencing technology to bring people together for conversation, learning, support, and fun.

The Next Café Le Brain Australia will be held in November 2015, due to the Webinar A Meeting of The Minds having to be held in the third week of September.

Topic: 

Guest speaker: to be announced

Date: TBC 

Time: 1pm (Brisbane time)

  • Adelaide: 12:00 p.m.
  • Brisbane: 12:30 p.m.
  • Sydney: 12:30 p.m.
  • Auckland: 3:00 p.m.
  • Tokyo: 12 noon

The Café runs for approximately 90 minutes.

To find out the start time in your city, click here.

Hosts:  Kate Swaffer, DAI Co-chair, Mick Carmody, DAI Circle of Friends member and Gayle Harris, DAI member.

Have questions about Café Le Brain for Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia Contact Dementia Alliance International

Online Support Groups

DAI Support group in Australia/NZ/Japan

The DAI Support group in Australia/NZ/Japan time zones, hosted by Mick Carmody from Brisbane will be changing its format on the first Tuesday of each month.

There will be a guest speaker, also available for question time commencing Tuesday 2nd June 2015, and as available, on the first Tuesday of every month.

This support group has changed its sequence, to accommodate a group of people with dementia living in Western Australia.

Commencing in September, DAI support groups in Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia time zones, they are to be held at 1pm Brisbane time each week, on:

o  The 1st, 3rd (and 5th) Tuesday of each month

o  The 2nd and 4th Wednesday of each month

When possible, on the 1st Tuesday of the month, we will have a guest speaker who will talk about topics of interest, with plenty pf time for questions. This is also the reason we have changed to the above calendar system, as we had speaker booked.

Guest speaker in November: Professor Elizabeth Beattie
Topic: Quality of Life for people living with dementia in the community

Please email us at [email protected] for more information

DAI A Meeting of the Minds Webinars

At our DAI A Meeting of the Minds Online Webinars, we feature people who have unique perspectives on dementia and who challenge the status quo. 

Our next event is October 28/29, 2015. 

To REGISTER, click here

Understanding the Selfhood of People with a dementia: Context is Key

Guest speaker: Professor Steven R. Sabat, Georgetown University

About Steven Sabat: Steven has been at Georgetown University since 1975.  He earned his doctorate at the City University of New York, where he specialized in Neuropsychology. The main focus of his research for the past 34 years has been the intact cognitive and social abilities (including aspects of selfhood) of people with Alzheimer’s disease in the moderate to severe stages of the disease, the subjective experience of having the disease, and the ways in which communication between those diagnosed and their caregivers may be enhanced. In addition, his interests include the epistemological basis of our understanding of the effects of brain injury on human beings. He has explored all of these issues in numerous scientific journal articles, in his book, The Experience of Alzheimer’s Disease: Life Through a Tangled Veil (Blackwell, 2001), the French translation of the book, La vécu du Malade d’Alzheimer: Comprendre pour mieux accompagner (Chronique Sociale, 2015), and in his co-edited book, Dementia: Mind, Meaning, and the Person (Oxford University Press, 2006).

Topic: “Understanding the Selfhood of People with a dementia: Context is Key” 

Understanding and helping a person with a dementia including Alzheimer’s disease (AD) requires that we recognize that there are different ways to understand dementia itself.  Explored in this presentation will be the biomedical, the existential-phenomenological, and the bio-psycho-social approaches.  We will see how each of these approaches provides different information and we will explore how understanding the person, his or her history, his or her selfhood and relationships, can be tremendously helpful in understanding the effects of dementia on him or her.  The person’s history and selfhood will be seen as being contexts of fundamental importance in understanding (1) the person’s reactions to the effects of dementia, and (2) the best approaches by which to help the person and his or her loved ones through this most difficult time.

DATE: October 28, 2015 (USA/UK/CA/EU) or October 28, 2015 (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia)

Start Time (USA/CA/UK/EU):

  • 1.00 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco);
  • 2.00 p.m. Mountain Time;
  • 3.00 pm Central Time (Chicago)
  • 4.00 p.m. Eastern Time (Washington DC);
  • 10.00 a.m. in Honolulu, Hawaii;
  • 8.00 p.m. in the UK;
  • 9.00 p.m. in Paris and Budapest.

Start time (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia):

  • 6.00 a.m. in Brisbane;
  • 7.00 a.m. Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne;
  • 4.00 a.m. in Perth;
  • 6.30 a.m. in Adelaide ;
  • 9.00 a.m. in Auckland, New Zealand;
  • 3.00 a.m. in Indonesia;
  • 5.00 a.m. in Tokyo, Japan

The WEBINAR will run for 1.5 hours. To find out the start time in your city, click here

To REGISTER, click here 

We hope to see you on October 28/29, 2015.

If you have any queries about any of our events, please email us at [email protected] or [email protected] 

Note: Attending our events supports everyone connected to dementia, whether the person diagnosed, our care partners, or the professionals and research community who work to suppport us and improve our lives.

We have needed to start to charge a fee for those who are working in the sector. You will be able to claim the cost of the tickets as a tax deduction. The fee for this service supports your education, and also supports our work which directly supports people with dementia. If you need a certificate of attendance, please email us at [email protected]

People with dementia, and their care partners, are usually no longer in paid employment, and therefore tickets remain free.

Donations are always appreciated.

Your donations make a difference:

$US 5.00 covers the cost of our some bank or PayPal fees
$US 49.00 covers the smallest cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee. This varies from $AU49-$AU150/month, which is dependent on the numbers registered to attend our evends – if they don’t show up, we still have to pay the fee.
$US 100.00 covers the approximate monthly cost of the MailChimp and Zoom subscription
$US 280.00 covers the approximte cost of six months of website management fees
Option: Your donation is securely processed by our nonprofit partner, PayPal, with transaction fees required to cover credit card fees, bank fees, and other processing costs. Please consider chipping in an additional amount so 100% of your donation amount goes to us.
Thank you for your support.

The WEBINAR will run for approximately 1-1.5 hours.

To find out the start time in your city, click here

Of, By, and For People with Dementia

Translate »