Webinar reminder: Rehabilitation and Dementia (24/25 August)

James McLoughlin-Eventbrite

  • August 24, 2016 – 2.00 pm (PDT – San Francisco) USA
  • August 25, 2016 – 6.30 am Adelaide (ACST)  AUSTRALIA

Please note: we have set up this event based on the time zone in Australia, to ensure the registration system does not close ahead of the Webinar – but  – it is still the same time for everone, August 24 in the USA/UK/EU and August 25 in Australia/NZ. Apologies for not promoting it here sooner, even though we did sent out the detail sin our recent Dementia Alliance International e-News.

You can register here…

About Jame’s session: Neuro physiotherapists support and teach people how to maximise their recovery and or potential. They use the knowledge of neuroscience and brain plasticity to improve mobility, help people to learn new skills and to transition in their lives as much as possible, to engage in what is important to them – their personal goals and individual expectations. They support improving mobility that enables you to be independent and safe, without falling over and causing injury, and to have the confidence to continue to remain active. He says:

“Dementia has previously not been prescribed rehabilitation – which we need to reverse. Only 17 years ago, there were only 5 papers on rehab for MS whereas now there are about three new papers per day – this needs to happen for dementia. Improving and maintaining function is possible, and evidence is much clearer in supporting this including for people with dementia, not just other neurological disorders.”

James will discuss the value of rehabilitation for people with dementia, allowing a lot of time for questions!

* Please note the question time is not part of our video recording of the event uploaded to our YouTube channel following the event, so you will need to register to ask questions or listen to others and Jame’s responses .

About James: Associate Professor James McLoughlin is an experienced Neurological Physiotherapist with degrees in both Physiotherapy (UniSA) and Clinical Neuroscience (University College London). James has also completed a PhD in balance and gait at the University of New South Wales.James is part-time academic at the Department of Rehab, Aged and Extended care at Flinders University and coordinator of the Neurological Physiotherapy and Neurological Occupational Therapy Masters programs. In addition, James is director of a large neurological and vestibular rehabilitation practice in Adelaide, neurophysiotherapy.com.au James describes himself as ‘a great scavenger of information ‘ and is passionate about providing the best care and support for his patients, in addition to providing relevant neuroscientific and clinical education for health professionals, patients and carers. James has conducted over 25 professional development courses since 2009 and has been an invited speaker at 13 different local, national and international clinical and research conferences.

Wednesday August 24, 2016, USA/CA/EU/UK:

Start Time (USA/CA/UK/EU):

  • 2.00 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco);
  • 3.00 p.m. Mountain Time (Denver);
  • 4.00 pm Central Time (Chicago)
  • 5.00 p.m. Eastern Time (Washington DC);
  • 2.00 p.m. Vancouver, Canada;
  • 11.00 a.m. in Honolulu, Hawaii;
  • 10.00 p.m. in the UK;
  • 11.00 p.m. in Paris and Budapest

Thursday August 25, 2016 AUSTRALIA/NEW ZEALAND/JAPAN

Start time (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia)

  • 6.30 a.m. in Adelaide;
  • 7.00 a.m. Sydney, Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne;
  • 5.00 a.m. in Perth;
  • 9.00 a.m. in Auckland, New Zealand;
  • 6.00 a.m. in Tokyo, Japan

The WEBINAR will run for 1.5 hours.

To check the time in your city, if not listed above, please open the link here…

You will receive an email confirmation that contains login details and instructions on how to join the online Webinar.

COST TO ATTEND:

Attending our events supports everyone connected to dementia, whether the person diagnosed, our care partners, or the professionals and research community who work to support us and improve our lives.

We also have a NEW CORPORATE RATE.

  • DAI MEMBER: FREE
  • UNEMPLOYED CARER: FREE
  • EMPLOYED PERSON: $US45 Most will be able to claim the cost of the tickets as a tax deduction.
  • UNEMPLOPYED STUDENTS: $US15 (please send proof of your student ID to [email protected] )
  • **NEW** CORPORATE RATE allowing organisations to register up to 10 staff per event: $300 per Webinar

DAI has to rely on an HONOUR registration system, and trust that if you are employed, you will not instead register as an unemployed family supporter (carer) or as a member of DAI. The modest fee for this service supports your education, and also supports our work, which importantly, directly enables people with dementia to support themselves.

If you need a certificate of attendance, please email us at [email protected]

You can register here…

Your donations do make a difference:

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

Option: Our nonprofit partner, PayPal charges us a transaction fee to cover fees and other processing costs, to securely process your donation. Please consider adding an additional small amount to your donation so 100% of your donation amount goes to Dementia Alliance International.