DAI Webinar: Living the U.S. National Dementia Plan

 

For DAI’s August monthly “A Meeting Of The Minds” Webinar, as some of us have been in Chicago attending the ADI Conference, we thought we’d bring some of Chicago and the conference to you!

Hence, our presenter is DAI’s Vice Chair, Jerry Wylie, who was an invited Plenary speaker on Day 1 of the ADI Conference.

Living the U.S. National Dementia Plan

About the Webinar: Jerry is an advocate living with dementia, and the Vice Chair of Dementia Alliance International. He was an invited Plenary speaker on Day 1 at the recent ADI Conference in Chicago.

At this DAI Webinar, we will bring Chicago to you, as Jerry has agreed to re-present his very impressive keynote speech.

In this presentation, Jerry shares his personal perspective on his involvement in contributing towards the development of the National Plan to Address Alzheimer’s disease through his work with Ian Kremer (LEAD). This session will address the following key points: momentum achieved in development and implementation of plan; inclusion of individuals impacted by dementia; importance of funding to achieve plan goals.

He also shares how he believes that he was SET UP FOR FAILURE… With NO SUPPORT to live positively with dementia, and how this almost resulted in him taking his life due to the hopelessness this left him. He shares what is in the US National Plan, and what is missing, in a way that is poetrful, with messages that speak clearly to everyone, includign pplicy makers.

About our presenter, Jerry Wylie:

Jerry Wylie was diagnosed with dementia at age 62 in June of 2015. Jerry was Helicopter Crew Chief in the US Army between 1971-1974. He studied Criminal Law at Pikes Peak Community College and Linn-Benton Community College and was the founding Member and Past President of West Salem Rotary Club. Jerry had a 40-year career in Business Management specialising in business growth and increasing profitability.

For Jerry, not having a college degree meant always having to “work” his way up. For a highly specialised division of ICI Americas, Jerry worked his way up to US Western Region Manager, having charge of 1/3 of US and 1/3 of Canada to include manufacturing, distribution and sales of products for repair and restoration of major concrete structures such a bridges, dams and concrete road ways.

Jerry later managed and grew two local Commercial Construction Companies to the point that their owners were able to retire comfortably. He then took on the task of starting a New Branch of a Home Construction Company in a new territory. He was able to take that business from building zero to 70 houses per year in just 5 years, during this last recession.

In 2014 Jerry began having issues with short term memory, multi-tasking and organisation. In June of 2015, Jerry was diagnosed with dementia.

Jerry is a current Member of Dementia Alliance International (DAI) Board of Directors, an active guest speaker at Rotary Clubs across Oregon and works with the Oregon Alzheimer’s Association. This November will mark 44 years of marriage to his wife, Kathy.

Please note: this webinar may not be made publicly available after the event; the Q & A sessions are never made publicly available to view.

Wednesday, August 22, 2018 – times (USA/UK/EU/CA):

  • 2:00 pm Portland/San Francisco USA
  • 4:00 pm Des Moines/Chicago USA
  • 5:00 pm New York USA
  • 11:00 am Honolulu
  • 5:00 pm Toronto CA
  • 2:00 pm Vancouver CA
  • 10:00 pm London/Glasgow UK
  • 11:00 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Thursday, August 23, 2018 – times (AU/NZ/JP/IND/TWN):

  • 6:30 am Adelaide
  • 7:00 am Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania
  • 5:00 am Perth/Taipei
  • 9:00 am Auckland, NZ

The webinar runs for up to 1.5 hours.

Register here…