DAI June Webinar: The STRiDE Project

Our third blog to support our members, and Dementia Awareness Week Scotland is a follow up to yesterdays blog, about the STRiDE Project. This webinar is an update of the progress the STRiDE research team have made since the kick off Workshops and meetings that Eileen reported on yesterday, highlighting just how far they have come, and perhaps even some of the  challenges to be faced ahead.

“A Meeting Of The Minds” Webinar, June 27/28, 2018

  • Wednesday, June 27, 2018 (USA/CA/UK/EU)
  • Thursday, June 28, 2018 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN)

Please note: this is one event, set in a number of different time zones.

Register here…

 

About Adelina: Adelina is an Assistant Professorial Research Fellow at the Personal Social Services Research Unit at the London School of Economics and Political Science. Her main research interests are economic aspects of care, treatment and support of people with dementia, and long-term care financing.

Adelina is the co-lead of the Strengthening Responses to Dementia in Developing Countries (STRiDE) project, a multi-national research project funded by the Research Councils UK’s Global Challenges Research Fund involving Brazil, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Mexico, and South Africa.

She also works on the “Modelling Dementia” (MODEM) project which aims to estimate the impact, in terms of costs and quality of life, of making interventions that are known to work for people with dementia and their care partners more widely available.

Adelina is a member of the World Health Organisation (WHO) Guideline Development Group for Risk reduction guidelines for cognitive decline and dementia and a consultant for WHO’s Department of Ageing and Life Course.

She was also a co-author of the World Alzheimer Report 2016.

Adelaine says: I first learnt about dementia through my grandfather, he moved in with my parents when he needed more support, but loved going back to his own seaside home whenever I could take a holiday.

About the Webinar:  Approximately 50 million people globally are estimated to live with dementia, and about two-thirds live in low-and-middle income countries (LMIC).

Everywhere, dementia is a major cause of disability among older people and can have a huge impact on their quality of life, particularly if adequate treatment, care and support is not available.

Provision of care and support for people living with dementia can be socially and economically very costly. These costs are mostly borne by family members, particularly women and girls. However, in the face of demographic, societal and economic changes, there are indications that nations can no longer rely only on this informal family care for people with dementia. LMICs need to develop evidence-informed responses to dementia prevention, treatment and care.

The STRiDE (Strengthening Responses to Dementia in Developing Countries) project aims to build capacity in dementia research, in order to support the development of national policies for dementia.

The project brings together researchers and Alzheimer’s Associations from seven LMIC countries: Brazil, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Mexico, and South Africa, and from the UK. The project is a partnership with Alzheimer’s Disease International and Dementia Alliance International, who are supporting the involvement of people with dementia in the project.

Please note: this webinar may not be made publicly available after the event; the Q & A sessions are never made publicly available to view.

Wednesday, June 27,  2018 – times (USA/UK/EU/CA):

  • 2:30 pm San Francisco USA
  • 4:30 pm Des Moines/Chicago USA
  • 5:30 pm New York USA
  • 11:30 am Honolulu
  • 5:30 pm Toronto CA
  • 2:30 pm Vancouver CA
  • 10:30 pm London/Glasgow UK
  • 11:30 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

We apologise again for the late time in the EU, UK and Scotland, due to the season and dalylight savings.

Thursday, June 28,  2018 – times (AU/NZ/JP/IND/TWN):

  • 7:00 am Adelaide
  • 7:30 am Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania
  • 5:30 am Perth/Taipei
  • 9:30 am Auckland, NZ

The webinar runs for up to 1.5 hours. 

Check your time using this link… 

COST TO ATTEND:

  • FREE for DAI members and their care partner (if you have dementia, please join here: www.joindai.org
  • $40 USD for all others
  • $20:00 USD Students (FT, unemployed)
  • $50 The cost of this ticket will be used exclusively to support people with dementia to attend ADI CHICAGO 2018
  • DONATION (this is not in lieu of a paid ticket, if you do not fit into the FREE ticket category)

THE SMALL FEE PAID FOR SOME ATTENDEES OF THIS EVENT, OR THE CONTRIUTION TO SUPPORT DAI MEMBERS AND THEIR CARE PARTNERS TO ATTEND CHICAGO, IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.

Register here…

 

DONATIONS ARE OUR OTHER ONLY SOURCE OF REVENUE.

WITHOUT THEM, DAI COULD NOT PROVIDE THE FREE SERVICES IT PROVIDES CURRENTLY FOR MEMBERS, THEIR FAMILIES & THE GLOBAL COMMUNITY.

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

PLEASE DONATE HERE… 

If you need a certificate of attendance, email us at [email protected]

Note: the Q&A  session at the end of our webinars are never available publicly, and therefore will not be available after the event. Some webinars are available on our YouTube channel, but not all depending on each presenter, or the quality of the recording.