Communication challenges: Being Curious, Cautious and Courageous

Teepa Snow-2

  • Wednesday 27, 2016 (USA/UK/CA/EU)
  • Thursday 28, 2016 (AU/NZ/JAPAN)

Communication challenges: Being Curious, Cautious and Courageous

About Teepa’s session: Living life with dementia inside is an ever-changing experience. Sometimes challenging, sometimes boring, sometimes overwhelming, and sometimes just fine. But it is not like it used to be, no matter how much we might wish it was so. One difficulty is that others may not experience you and your perceptions the same way you do. It is often easier for me to blame the change on you and your dementia than look in the mirror and notice how much of what is happening might be due to how I am being different or changing. With dementia, each of us is not always sure about what each person thinks, remembers, hears, sees, feels, but it is easy to react rather than respond. In this session, I will provide six puzzle pieces to help each of us consider the gifts of curiosity, caution, and courage to help when we are trying to work and live with one another and we have dementia in the house!

About Teepa: Teepa is an occupational therapist working as a dementia care and dementia education specialist. She has over 33 years of clinical experience in the field of geriatrics and dementia care, as well as having provided care to family members with dementing illnesses. Currently, she has an independent practice as well as a clinical appointments with Duke University’s School of Nursing & UNC-CH School of Medicine. She provides interactive and creative educational and practical hands-on training sessions to organizations and providers throughout the US & Canada. She has been actively involved in teaching and clinical research projects throughout her practice career.

Wednesday April 27, 2016, USA/CA/EU/UK:
Start Time (USA/CA/UK/EU):
2.00 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco AND Oregon, Portland);
3.00 p.m. Mountain Time (Denver);
4.00 pm Central Time (Chicago)
5.00 p.m. Eastern Time (Washington DC);
2.00 p.m. Vancouver, Canada;
11.00 a.m. in Honolulu, Hawaii;
10.00 p.m. in the UK;
11.00 p.m. in Paris and Budapest

Thursday April 28, 2016 AUSTRALIA/NEW ZEALAND/JAPAN
Start time (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia)
7.00 a.m. in Brisbane;
7.00 a.m. Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne;
4.00 a.m. in Perth;
6.30 a.m. in Adelaide;
9.00 a.m. in Auckland, New Zealand;
6.00 a.m. in Tokyo, Japan

The WEBINAR will run for 1.5 hours, and you can REGISTER here

To check the time in your city, if not listed above, please open the link here:
http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?msg=DAI+A+Meeting+of+the+Minds+with+Teepa+Snow%2C+April+2016&iso=20160427T14&p1=202&ah=1&am=30

You will receive an email confirmation that contains login details and instructions on how to join the online Webinar.

Note: Attending our events supports everyone connected to dementia, whether the person diagnosed, our care partners, or the professionals and research community who work to support us and improve our lives.

We charge a minimal fee of $US45 for anyone who is employed. Most will be able to claim the cost of the tickets as a tax deduction.

Students who are full time and unemployed are charged $US15 – please send proof of your student ID to [email protected]

Please note: We rely on an HONOUR registration system, and trust that if you are employed, you will not instead register as an unemployed family supporter (carer). The modest fee for this service supports your education, and also supports our work, which importantly, directly enables people with dementia to support themselves.

If you need a certificate of attendance, please email us at [email protected]

The Webinar is FREE for people with dementia and unemployed family care partners.

REGISTER here…

Please note: we have set up this event based on the time zone in Australia, to ensure the registration system does not close ahead of the Webinar – but  – it is still the same time for everyone, April 27 in the USA/UK/EU and April 28 in Australia/NZ.

Note: Attending our events supports everyone connected to dementia, whether the person diagnosed, our care partners, or the professionals and research community who work to support us and improve our lives.

Your donations are always appreciated and do make a difference:

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 50.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 100.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

Option: Our nonprofit partner, PayPal charges us a transaction fee to cover fees and other processing costs, to securely process your donation. Please consider adding an additional small amount to your donation so 100% of your donation amount goes to Dementia Alliance International.